Blessed are those who mourn

Jesus wept.

Here is a little meditation on the second Beatitude:

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

Christ embraced suffering, agony, and finally death on the cross. He was the suffering servant Isaiah prophesized (Is 53 ff.). Christ’s suffering was infinitely valuable and has saved and sanctified us. At the end of his voluntary fast in the desert, angels comforted Jesus. In the Garden of Gethsemane, after Christ asked his Father to allow the cup of suffering to pass him by—if possible—an angel strengthened him (Lk 22:43). Christ promises to comfort all who come to him:

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. (Mt 11:28-30)

To access an outline for The Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity, click on Homily Outlines above, then select Year A, then scroll down.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *